Auras for Beginners

What are Auras?

The aura is energy that surrounds the physical body of humans and all living organisms. There are seven layers of energy which correspond to the seven chakras and work with them.

Your aura is like a colour map of who you are and how you’re functioning at any given time.

Read More: Aura Reading Part Two: Aura Colours and Meanings

Your Aura Colours Give Away the Inner You

You might be good at hiding your emotions and have a poker face – but someone who can see and read an aura won’t be fooled.

The color and size of your aura shows how you are feeling emotionally and physically. Thoughts have energy and your thoughts add colour to your aura. Other people’s thoughts do the same, which is why it’s important to cleanse your aura regularly to remove  any negativity which may have lodged there.

Chinese culture has a name for this energy field that surrounds you. It’s called ch’i – the life energy of all living things.

Why your Aura can Make you Feel Overwhelmed

The seven layers of energy all play a vital part in keeping your aura healthy.

The layers are called auric levels. These levels feed information to the outside. They also feed information to your soul on the inside. Information is received and moved into your aura to be assimilated and processed.

The auric levels engulf your physical body in a field of energy that’s roughly the shape of an egg. They extend out from your body and extend further and further as you experience spiritual awakening and start to develop your psychic abilities.

As your aura extends, it touches other peoples’ auras and this is may make you feel overwhelmed.

Personal space

Personal space is the area surrounding you which you regard as psychologically yours.

Most people value their personal space and if it’s ‘invaded’ they may feel uncomfortable, angry or anxious.

If you allow someone to enter your personal space – and they allow you to enter theirs, it shows that you trust each other and feel comfortable with that level of physical closeness.

Diagram showing the sizes of personal space zones

Let’s look at the personal space levels more closely.

Intimate Space

You feel comfortable letting close friends, lovers, children and close family members into your intimate space. However, if others enter it, you may feel on edge, threatened and on high alert for unexpected actions or behaviours.

Personal Space

This zone is for chatting with friends, talking with work associates and for group discussions.

Social Space

This zone is even further away from your physical body. It’s reserved for strangers, newly formed groups and people you’ve just met.

Public Space

This is the largest zone and it’s for large spaces with lots of people. This could be a lecture theatre, a shopping mall, a music concert or a football match.

Keeping Your Distance

Entering somebody’s personal space demonstrates close familiarity or intimacy with them.

However, in modern society, it can be difficult to protect your own personal space – especially if you’re travelling in a crowded subway, using an elevator or just walking down the street.

As your auric field extends, it comes into contact with more and more auras emanating from more and more people. All of that energy bombarding you at once may make you feel jumpy, nervous or frail.

It’s good practice to employ a bit of psychic protection to avoid these unpleasant feelings. Simply imagine yourself inside a giant bubble. Imagine that it’s as clear as glass and you can see right through it but it’s as hard as a diamond and won’t let anything near you.

Psychic protection is very important and one of the first things to learn -

The Seven Layers of Energy

aka Auric Levels

aka Auric Bodies

These seven auric levels reach out beyond the physical body – sometimes as far as three feet or more. The aura layers encapsulate the physical body in a large egg-shaped field of energy.

The 7 layers of aura and their associated chakras

Let’s take a closer look at these levels.

1. Aura: The Etheric Body – associated with the first chakra – the root chakra.

Root Chakra associated with the etheric body of the aura

Concerned with

pain and pleasure and the automatic and autonomic functions of the body.


bluish white/blue/grey.


1 to 2 inches out from the physical body.

What is it like?

Webs and small lines of sparkling light that are constantly moving.

2. Aura: The Emotional Body – associated with the 2nd chakra – the sacral chakra.

Sacral Chakra associated with the emotional body of the aura




Concerned with

emotional aspect of humans.


1 to 3 inches out from the physical body.


Depends on your emotion at the time – Intense emotions like love and anger are brilliant and bright, depression and confusion are muddied and darker. Can show as rainbow colours.

What is it like?

No definite structure but very fluid and constantly moving.

3. Aura: The Mental Body – associated with the 3rd chakra – the solar plexus chakra.

Solar Plexus Chakra associated with the mental body of the aura




Concerned with

our intellectual processes and the linear thinking of the left brain.


bright yellow. It can be hard to see the yellow because of the sometimes multi coloured emotional body underneath it.


3 to 8 inches out from the physical body.

What is it like?

Structured. Thoughts may be seen in this aura and they are coloured by the emotion involved in them.

4. Aura: The Astral Body – associated with the 4th chakra – the heart chakra.

Heart Chakra associated with the astral body of the aura




Concerned with

all types of love – erotic, platonic and unconditional.


may be the same rainbow colours seen in the emotional body but with a lot more rose colour in this body of love.


one foot (12 inches) out from the physical body.

What is it like?

This is the first level where you are getting nearer to the astral world. You may see spirits if you meditate on this auric body.

5. Aura: The Etheric Template Body – associated with the 5th chakra – the throat chakra.

Throat Chakra associated with the etheric template body of the aura




Concerned with

divine will and with communication – both divine and human.


deep blue


1 to 2 feet (12 – 25 inches) out from the physical body.

What is it like?

This auric body is the template for the physical body. Empty lines may be seen over the deep blue background which makes it look like a blueprint. If any of the auric bodies are damaged, it is the etheric template that heals them.

6. Aura: The Celestial Body – associated with the 6th chakra – the third eye chakra.

Third Eye Chakra associated with the celestial body of the aura



Concerned with

celestial love, and is way above what normal humans are capable of.


opalescent gold and silver – like mother of pearl.


2 to 2.5 feet (24 – 30 inches) out from the physical body.

What is it like?

We can reach out to this auric body with meditation. In this layer, we can heal and communicate with spirit.

7. Aura: The Causal Body (Ketheric Template) – associated with the 7th chakra – the crown chakra.

Crown Chakra associated with the causal body of the aura




Concerned with

everything to do with the higher self or mind.




2 to 3 feet (24 – 36 inches) out from the physical body.

What is it like?

This auric body is highly structured with a strong outer coat that shimmers gold and silver. It stay with us throughout all our incarnations and is thought to house our own individual Akashic records.

Your Aura is a Vital Part of You – Show it Some Love

Now you can see how important the auric bodies are. It’s our responsibility to take care of our auras. Luckily, this is easy to do with meditation, visualization and energy work.